Explore Chatham's history by visiting some of the many monuments and historic markers around the town.
The story behind the Mack Monument, located next to the Chatham Lighthouse. The Monument was erected in 1903 by the family of William Henry Mack, the owner of the barge Wadena, in memory of the owner and crew
who were lost, and the seven men of Monomoy Life-Saving Station
who were drowned trying to rescue them.
This small monument adjacent to the Lighthouse overlook parking area commemerates Chatham's only action during the
Revolutuonary War. It begins: Chatham's only active hostilities during the Revolutionary War occurred in Chatham Harbor, near this site, on 20 June 1782.
Chatham's Civil War Monument is on Main St. in the triangle at the intersection of Seaview St. The monument is a marble obelisk and bears an inscription that reads “in memory of those that fell in the Rebellion of 1861 to 1865”.
On another face is a list of seven names of war heroes, and another face lists the names, ages and details about the wounding and death of six local veterans who died during the Civil War.
The Samuel de Champlain 1606 Voyage Commemoration Monument on Stage Harbor Road was the creation of Carol Wight, a professor at The University of Johns Hopkins, and the husband of Alice Stallknecht (Wight), whose murals hang in the Mural Barn at the Atwood House Museum. Their home, and the mural barn as well, were located across the street from the present Champlain Monument location. Wight bought the plot of land and paid for the first plaque. This was probably in the 1930's. The original monument or plaque w